Our first month as a family of four ðŸŒ·

It’s already been a month!? It feels like just last week I gave birth to our sweet baby girl.

As i sit here and write up this blog I have baby girl sleeping in my arms after a feed and my two year old eating breakfast well watching his morning kid shows. This month has been one big old blur with me trying to juggle being a mother of one to now a mother of two!? I still can’t believe how much my life has changed “again” in the space of a month.

So how has our first month been?

Our first month with Elizabeth has been a busy first month, I have struggled trying to adjust from being a mother of one too a mother of two, it’s this crazy feeling you just can’t explain until you become a parent of two.

You always see those parents with two children all over your social media’s looking like they have their sh*t togther and make it look so easy, well I’m sorry to say it’s all a lie. It’s so easy to share the great moments of parenting and not share the truths.

This for me was a struggle into parenting two kids, because I honesty felt like I was failing because over on my Instagram all I would see was how easy it was for other mothers and I was crying everyday and struggling to find time to have a shower and shave my legs.

But I’m happy to report after the first 3 weeks were over I began to feel like myself again, I started getting the hang of parenting a two year old who throws tantrums from time to time and a newborn who some days just wants to be on the boob all day long.

How is breastfeeding going?

If you haven’t had a read of my breastfeeding blog I did cover this whole topic. Breastfeeding with my two-year old just didn’t happen “which explained in detail over on that blog.” But because of my first experience I really didn’t think breastfeeding would happen the second time around and yet this time it happened so naturally and although it was hard work the first few weeks Elizabeth and I are both doing well on our breastfeeding journey together and I’m loving those extra moments between herself and I.

Too sleep or not to sleep.

Our first month with Elizabeth and sleep unfortunately hasn’t been a win for us. She does well with her day sleeps away from me, she will happily sleep in her bassist or swing but our night sleeps in the bassist have become non-existent. But if I have been honest I haven’t really been fighting her on this and have enjoyed our chest to chest sleeps, although she doesn’t do well sleeping in her own bed when she sleeps she’s pretty good. She now sleeps longer intervals during the night but she does have her “fussy” hour from 3:30am-4:30am. 

I have decided to buy a sleep help guid now that she’s a month old I do want to now focus on making her a routine something that will help me and help her, I also will be trying to get her to sleep in her bassist over the weekend well hubby is home and I can have that extra time and help. Lorenzo our first-born was also the same and we had to work with him to get him to sleep on his own, took us a few days and was long and hard but we got there and I know we can with Elizabeth as well. 

If the shoe fits?

I swear Lorenzo had out-grown all his new-born clothing by the time he was one month, just from being a super long baby. So again I don’t why I did this but when buying clothing for Elizabeth I didn’t spend much on newborn stuff and began buying for 0-3 months which turns out I’m still struggling to fit her in newborn outfits as some are still too big.

One month milestones.

• Elizabeth is already trying to hold her head & neck up on her own.

• Elizabeth can turn her head from side to side already

Only child no more?

When we first brought Elizabeth home Lorenzo was half and half about his feelings towards his new baby sister. Now we are month in and his love has grown but he still doesn’t understand. Lorenzo still is adjusting to having to wait for something he needs or wants because I’ll be busy breastfeeding or changing baby sister, but the way both hubby and I look at this is his learning that he doesn’t get everything he wants straight away anymore… now if only we could get him to share and all will be right in the Caesar household.

My postpartum body?

I’ve cut out some bad habits due to breastfeeding but I haven’t really forced or focused too much on healthy eating and working out, this first month has been crazy and it has been more about getting myself in the correct head space and adjusting too my new life with two kids.

But I would love to point out breastfeeding did help me lose a little bit of that tummy which was a nice little surprise.

But I can’t wait to keep you all updated on my postpartum journey, I’ve just did a massive food shop with youfoodz online and as gyms are still closed I’ve gone out and bought myself heaps of gym gear as well as buying Kayla Itsines “sweat app for my at home workouts.

This month has gone so fast and has come with some bad days mixed with the good days. I’ve loved becoming a mother or two and I’m thankful each and every day for two healthy children I can’t wait to see what the next 11 months have to offer.

Author: Thecaesarfamily

Brisbane Australia Mother to a toddler and his name is Lorenzo. wife Baby girl due April the 24th 2020 oh and I work full time as a teacher. I blog it all! Tackling motherhood with a whole lot of bribery.

3 thoughts on “Our first month as a family of four ðŸŒ·”

  1. Congrats on your beautiful new baby! Sounds like you are doing great! I wouldn’t worry about the other Instagram parents. 🙂 Best wishes and continued success!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment